Golf Tournament Raises $25,000!!!

August 22nd, 2010 by admin

WAKEFIELD, MA–On Monday, August 9, 2010 the 6th Annual Warrior Club Golf Tournament, sponsored by Honey Dew Donuts, was held at Mount Hood Golf Course in Melrose, Massachusetts.  The weather was a little hot and humid, but that did not keep 120 golfers from hitting the links. After the birdies and bogeys were counted, the day raised close to $25,000 for the program.

The morning started off with a continental breakfast provided by Lisitano Produce.  After everyone had their morning fix of coffee, muffins and donuts they checked in with the event committee to receive their gift bags and have their group picture taken which was sponsored by AMA Transportation.

This year’s gift bag was sponsored by the Wakefield Co-Operative Bank and it included:

Windbreaker Jacket sponsored by Nardone Inc.; Visor sponsored by Energy Insurance; $10 Gift Certificate to Dockside Restaurant; Free Small Ice Cream at Daily Scoop; Tees and Ball Marker sponsored by Independent Concrete Pumping; Sleeve of Nike Golf Balls sponsored by Nike and Chet Davis-’76; Discount Coupons sponsored by Dick’s Sporting Goods and a few snacks to keep everyone’s energy level up throughout the day.

The tournament began with a shotgun start at 10am.  As the golfers raced to their starting hole the numerous contest, tee and cart sponsor signs could be see throughout the course. This year’s tournament had the largest amount of sponsorships it has had in its previous five years. Each par 3 hole had a hole-in-contest and the event also had closest to the pin, longest drive and straightest drive.  Thanks to businesses such as Athletic Evolution, Crystal Motor Express, D&R General Contracting, Sardella Signs, Testa Corporation, The Savings Bank, Subaru of Wakefield and WMGLD Employees Union for sponsoring all of our contests including our $25,000 hole-in-one and Subaru Outback hole-in-one holes.

Throughout the event, as golfers made the turn at the ninth hole, they were treated to a hot dog and cold beverage provided by staff at Mount Hood.  Many golfers also stopped by the Justin Leo Marshall Memorial Putting Contest sponsored by Metalcrafter’s Inc. and Marty Tucker-’90. The committee named the putting contest this year in memory of the former Warrior who tragically died this past spring at the age of 30. The committee presented the Justin’s family a check for $500 for the Citizen Scholarship Foundation scholarship set up in Justin’s name.  In attendance to receive the donation were his grandmother Eleanor, sister Jessica and girlfriend Amanda.

The golf wrapped up around 3pm and everyone headed over to the Saugus Elks for what has become to be known as the “best deal in town.”  Golfers were treated to a BBQ sponsored by MacKay Construction and James MacKay-’04. The meal was cooked by Chef Scott Millea and Chef Joe Conway.  Both of these men had son’s play in the program and donate their time each year to help the program and give back.  This year’s menu included hamburgers, hotdogs, sausages, chili, clam chowder, pulled pork and the main course of lobster or steak! Oh by the way, that does not include the salads, corn on the cob and other sides!

Once again, while the food was on the grille, Paul “Murphy” D’Angelo provided comic relief to the crowd of nearly 200.  Prior to performing, committee chairman, John Roberto-’98, presented Paul with a replica game jersey with his old number and “Murphy” written on the back.

After the food was eaten (there was not a crumb left), the awards were given out for all the contest winners and this year’s tournament winners. It should be noted that Carl Matta was the 50/50 raffle winner and he donated his share of $230 back to the program! The 2010 Champions are Coach Mike Boyages-’76, Coach John Amentola, Bob Iosua and Kevin Noonan.  They recorded a 15 under par and many people were left to wonder if the coaches cheated?!

Tournament chairmen John Roberto-’98 closed out the event by thanking all the participants. He said, “I would like to personally thank all the business support and community support we received this year.” He continued, “this tournament is as successful as it is because of the alumni. Each year you all come back to give back and for that we are grateful.”

The Warrior Club would like to thank committee members Chairman John Roberto-’98, Treasure Steve Sacco, Coach Mike Boyages-’76, Al Lisitano-’86, Jared Waitt-’99, Rob Cataldo-’96, John Pace-’96, Pat Looby, Greg Ledin, Eric Johnson, Dave Feeley, Anthony Bruzzese and Tony Fabiano .

Click Here To View Photos Of The Event>>

Leave a Reply