Post Season Awards Handed Out

March 3rd, 2011 by admin

Wakefield, MA–The Wakefield Warrior Club recently honored the 2010 Wakefield High School Football Team with a season ending banquet at Montvale Plaza in Stoneham.

Coach Mike Boyages handed out awards to five seniors.  Each year the program hands out memorial awards honoring  Julio O. Encarnacao and family, Coach Ronald Wood, Coach Robert Connors and former player Michael Magliozzi. Also, the team Most Valuable Player is awarded.

Established in 1979, The Julio O. Encarnacao Award is the longest running honor of distinction given by the Warrior Football program. It is designed to memorialize a man by recognizing a player for his leadership, citizenship, team spirit and dedication. However, the award also allows an accomplished family to give back to the community in the same manner by which they were taught; by rewarding and encouraging the recipient to continue to live as he plays within the same traditional hard work ethic reminiscent of Julio Encarnacao. The 2010 recipient of the Encarnacao Award is Vin DeSciscio.

The morning of September 11, 1982 was one that will be forever remembered by the people of Wakefield. On their way to a scrimmage with Central Catholic at Landrigan, a car full of teammates including Peter Masterangelo, Richard Curley, Michael Moschella and Michael Magliozzi were involved in a vicious car accident on Nahant Street. 16 days later, Michael Magliozzi was pronounced dead from injuries he suffered at the scene of the accident. The establishment of the Michael Magliozzi Award was made by those who loved Michael in order to honor the current football player who displays the quality of character, dedication to scholastics and innate athleticism most associated with the promise and all but guaranteed successful future of Michael Magliozzi. The 2010 recipient of the Magliozzi Award is Anthony Fabiano.

Bob Connors’ best attribute might have been his uncanny way to motivate people to rise to a higher level; put the wins and losses in a dignified perspective and to make the game fun with the help of his renowned dry humor and incisive wit. He was known for his love of children and especially his generosity and support of the underprivileged. The regard and esteem in which he was held by his peers and students in high school and college was legendary as was the modesty in the acknowledgement of his successes. Even as he battled with cancer before his premature death in 1998 at the age of 51, the courage and determination he exhibited were just as remarkable as his outstanding athletic accomplishments. The Bob Connors Award is given to a Wakefield High School Varsity Football Player who best exemplifies the spirit and philosophy of Coach Connors by displaying leadership, integrity and character on and off the football field. The 2010 recipient of the Connor’s Award is Greg Ledin.

Ronald Wood was a big, strong, imposing figure of a man whose demeanor demanded respect but who still remained easily approachable and compassionate to the players. His battle with colon cancer, which spread to such an extent that a rod was installed to support his weakened back, might be a simple explanation why people had a hard time coming to terms with how a hardy individual could meet an untimely death at a young age. In memoriam, the Press Box at Landrigan Field, which sits high above the gridiron enabling a unique perspective of a Wakefield Football game, was dedicated to the memory of Coach Wood. The Ron Wood Memorial Award is given to a player who exhibits the qualities most needed to insure the mental toughness, balance, harmony and ultimate success of a Warrior team while duplicating the uncompromising determination and spirit of Coach Ron Wood. The 2010 recipient of the Wood Award is Charjit Singh.

Each season the progam hands out the Team MVP Award.  Past winners include Hall of Famers John Rafferty-’71 and Paul Gonnella-’88, the Raymond brothers: Tito-’87 and Jose-’92 and more recently current UConn Huskie, Martin Hyppolite-’09. The 2010 recipient of the Most Valuable Player Award is Connor O’Brien.

Leave a Reply